* “Why nuclear power is a false solution to the climate crisis” with Ralph Nader, Dec 12

climatetop

Dear Friends,

Join us Thursday, December 12 at 3 pm Eastern / 2pm Central / 1pm Mountain / noon Pacific for the final Climate Reality Check Coalition conference call of 2013. We are pleased to have Ralph Nader and Kevin Kamps join our call to discuss why nuclear power is a false solution to the climate crisis.

The climate crisis is upon us. The world’s leading climate scientists agree that time is rapidly running out and that urgent steps are needed to dramatically reduce our carbon emissions. In recent months, a small number of prominent climate activists have been urging the movement to accept nuclear power as a necessary part of the mix needed to get us off fossil fuels. Ralph Nader is a prominent spokesperson for the view that uranium fuel, as an alternative to fossil fuels, is a false choice and to address climate change and the consequences of dirty energy we must move toward a safe, efficient, sustainable and democratic energy economy, rather than promote dangerous solutions like nuclear power and fracking.

We’ll be joined by Ralph Nader and Kevin Kamps of Beyond Nuclear to discuss why nuclear is not the answer.  Our discussion will include:

  • The exorbitant price and long completion time for bringing new reactors online
  • The opportunity cost of investing in nuclear power
  • The feasibility of a nuclear-free, carbon-free electricity sector
  • Unique issues such as lethal waste, proliferation and safety

Please RSVP here:

https://spreadsheets2.google.com/spreadsheet/viewform?formkey=dFNyS3N0aEMzSnktR0c0UEkwY0NfQ0E6MQ

The call-in number is 209-647-1600 Code 615986.

More about our presenters:

Ralph Nader is one of America’s most effective social critics – named by The Atlantic as one of the 100 most influential figures in American history, and by Time and Life magazines as one of the hundred most influential Americans of the twentieth century, his documented criticism of government and industry has had widespread effect on public awareness and bureaucratic power. He is a long time watch dog of the nuclear industry and critic of nuclear power.

Kevin Kamps is the Radioactive Waste Watchdog at Beyond Nuclear. He specializes in high-level waste management and transportation; new and existing reactors; decommissioning; Congress watch; climate change; federal subsidies.

About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s